Our leadership

Advisory council

The advisory council fosters two-way communication and idea generation between Wisconsin’s dairy community and university partners.

Operating principles:

  • Ensures collaboration between three campuses
  • Brings ideas to the leadership committee
  • Advises priority funding areas
  • Shares outcomes with broader community
  • Maintains transparency and accountability
  • Curates a culture of mutual trust and honesty
  • Creates focus and balance; prevents mission creep
  • Honors talents; supports leadership and program structure

Read the council’s charter to learn more about the structure and purpose of the group.

Council members:

  • Dave Daniels, Mighty Grand Dairy, Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation, Chairman
  • Mitch Breunig, Mystic Valley Dairy, Professional Dairy Producers of Wisconsin
  • Aric Dieter, ALCIVIA, Dairy Business Association
  • Holly Dolliver, UW–River Falls
  • Steve Kelm, UW–River Falls
  • Shelly Mayer, Professional Dairy Producers of Wisconsin
  • Tera Montgomery, UW–Platteville
  • Chuck Nicholson, UW–Madison
  • Scott Rankin, UW–Madison
  • Randy Romanski, Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
  • John Umhoefer, Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association
  • Heather White, Faculty Director (ex officio)

Meeting schedule

Next meeting
Aug. 13, 2024: Marshfield Ag Research Station – Agenda, Minutes (to be added as meeting nears)

Past meetingsexpand_more

Jan. 16, 2024: Agenda, Minutes
Nov. 14, 2023: Agenda, Minutes
Aug. 14, 2023: Agenda, Minutes
April 26, 2023: Agenda, Minutes
Jan. 23, 2023: Agenda, Minutes
Nov. 15, 2022: Agenda, Minutes
Aug. 15, 2022: Agenda, Minutes
April 27, 2022: Agenda, Minutes
Jan. 24, 2022: Agenda, Minutes
Nov. 15, 2021: Agenda, Minutes
Aug. 16, 2021: Agenda, Minutes
April 26, 2021: Agenda, Minutes
Jan. 22, 2021: Agenda, Minutes
Nov. 16, 2020: Agenda, Minutes
Aug. 18, 2020: Agenda, Minutes
April 30, 2020: Agenda, Minutes
Jan. 31, 2020: Agenda, Minutes
Nov. 7, 2019: Agenda, Minutes

Leadership committee

Glenda Gillaspy
Dean, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, UW–Madison

Charles Steiner
Interim Dean, College of Business, Industry, Life Science and Agriculture, UW–Platteville

Michael Orth
Dean, College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences, UW–River Falls